Historic 1855 Greek Revival town cottage believed to have been built by the carpenter who remodeled The Shadows House that same year. Originally a hall-and-parlor dogtrot, the center hall was enclosed with double doors and a kitchen extension added in the 1870s. Built from old-growth virgin Longleaf Pine timbers with square cut nails, the home features hand-planed walls, floors and ceilings and much of its original 170-year-old Greek Key trim and molding. Interior colors are historically inspired with small sections of original paint preserved. The home remained with one family from approximately 1900-1999 and did not have running water until after 2000. Since then, extensive improvements include new electrical wiring and fixtures, plumbing, central HVAC with blown-in attic insulation, kitchen, bathroom, sewer treatment plant and internet connection. For approximately 150 years the home had no indoor bathroom. The original outhouse still stands while the former bachelors' bedroom was converted into the current bath. The clawfoot tub came from a home office off Broadway. The original 1850s lot configuration remains intact with its narrow, deep layout historically designed to provide pasture for horses. The property includes a fruit orchard, carport, and storage building. The home could potentially be expanded by adding a second story above the kitchen and utilizing the attic. A rare opportunity to own and continue preserving a remarkable piece of Louisiana history. Antique furnishings do not convey unless otherwise agreed. Additional restoration and repairs are needed. Property is being sold strictly AS IS.
Listing courtesy of Francesca McLelland from Carey Real Estate LLC. Contact: 318-377-5115

Listing provided by North Texas Real Estate Information Systems (NTREIS). Listing data has been deemed reliable but is not guaranteed to be accurate by the MLS.
Last updated: